P90X: Day 8 – Starting All Over Again!

9 07 2009

I completed one week of P90X but I am far from done. You have to repeat the first week for 3 weeks, then move onto a Recovery Period before moving into Phase 2. Today was just as tough as the first day! Talk about SORE! But Smiling!!

hhsmileweek23.jpg

FYI I have to hit pause when it is time for the pull-ups since my pull-up bar is upstairs. I do a light jog up and do what I can and then jog back down and hit play. It gives me a few seconds extra sometimes to rest. I am doing assisted pull-ups using a stool. I feel kind of like a wimp for not being able to do any pull-ups by myself yet, but then again I have to remind myself that this is only the 8th day. I am giving it my best and that is all I have to give!

In the picture, note that I am using 2 small bins stacked together as a makeshift table to record my workout reps and weight each day. The usable space for the workout in my living room is maybe 7 x 10 and the whole house bounces and shakes. In the picture you can see part of my glass coffee table and rolled up throw rug. I have to roll up the rug and move both the rug and the coffee table out of the way for each workout. It can be annoying. I am using a dining room chair shoved against my sofa. One cat is in front of me (Willow) and if you look closely I almost crushed Pixie beneath me. These Decline Push-Ups are hard for me! I guess what I am trying to say is that I am pretty lo-fi here and I am still feeling the burn. Don’t let a small space or anything else deter you from trying this! No Excuses! I use weight lifting gloves when I do some of the workouts because my hands get sore. I bought the “Perfect Push-Up” bars from Dick’s Sporting Goods because my wrists were killing me after doing so many push-ups and exercises in general. You don’t need all this. I just got it yesterday after I tried the first week without it. There are coupons online to find all this stuff in an affordable manner. Don’t let anything stop you from your goals! It was $29.99 and I had a $10 off coupon – it doesn’t get much better! (I look a little white because I had Badger 30 spf Sunscreen on for my hour long walk before the workout. This stuff is kind of expensive but it is so worth it for the health of your body – no toxins!)

me-in-decline-push-up3.jpg


Actions

Information

5 responses

9 07 2009
Mel

Guurrrlll, you are almost motivating me into it too! My friend Tina did it for three weeks before hurting herself. But she loved (hated) it! I have them, soooo…… ugh! I gotta do something…keep it up!! luv ya!

9 07 2009
fantastifab

Hey Mellie Mel! I was hurting from DAY ONE!!!!! Tina must be made of steel!!!! You should do it. Your body type would take to it and be FAB! We could be doing this together babe! xoxo

9 07 2009
Michelle

You are awesome…LOL. Pixie is under you…priceless! I wish I was going as strong as you! My progress is sloooowww.

10 07 2009
fantastifab

Hey Michelle – You are doing it right though….if you were to lose like 10 pounds in a week you wouldn’t be healthy and your skin might sag. Not that you would have that problem! I haven’t lost any weight, but my body feels different…in a good way I think! I’m glad you are doing something proactive for yourself! We have to walk together sometime!

10 07 2009
mom

Hi heather,
I’m proud of you for finishing your first week of p90x, I’m enjoying all the detail that you write down, and I love all your vegetables, those cucumbers are so cute, and your tomatoes look great,anyway the smudge stick sounded pretty interesting! keep up the good work.
Love you
Mom
P.S I went to zumba lesson tonight and it was a good work out.

Leave a comment